Dreaming. Waiting. Decorating.

Thanks to the holiday season, we have not yet heard from the Underwriter. I never thought that I would be wishing the holidays away so quickly!

To help pass the time, I’ve been coming up with ways to decorate the home. I even went as far as purchasing new bedding for the master bedroom. Luckily it was on sale at Kohl’s for almost 80% off. SCORE! I’ve been Pinterest-ing and searching for color schemes so much that I now go to bed dreaming of paint. I also found a lamp shade (the lamp itself was not my thing) that I ADORED. However, the shade was not sold separately and I was not about to pay $85 on a lamp that I hated. So I walked around Hobby Lobby a little more and found that they sell plain lamp shades with a sticky adhesive so I can make one myself! I am pretty excited about that little fact.

This is what I’m thinking for our ‘formal dinning room’. Funny thing is, it is the exact same layout as our’s. Thank you Benjamin Moore models!

Gorgeous and the hubby likes it too!

Although, with the color schemes I have listed for the rest of the house, would it be better to do a mid-dark shade of aqua instead?

Here are my two options. What do you think for the dining room?

Dark Aqua

 OR

Benjamin Moore

So here is the color scheme that we (my husband and I) were looking into for our new home, but instead of the middle grey, we would do a shade of blue/grey like shown in the dining room design.

A color palette I'm loving!

So the top would become the bottom:

Color SchemeThe study I would leave just the ‘taupe’ color and accent/liven up the room with decor and simple drapes. To help tie the whole 1st floor together, I would like to make the wall with the fire place the same color as the dining room and have the rest of the walls also ‘taupe’. Depending on whether I go with the ‘Normandy’ or the darker aqua shade will determine what decorative pillows and drapes I use. I think either case will look gorgeous with dark brown leather couches. So many choices!

For the upstairs, I haven’t really thought too far from the Master bed and bath. I purchased a bedding set (as mentioned earlier) and hope to play up the room with the lighter shade of aqua.

Here is the bedding that I purchased:

Here is what I am looking to do (minus the orange pillows):

Light aqua walls, black and white furniture, taupe bedding- this would look great in one of our cottages!

The tray ceilings in the master will help open it up more and maybe I’ll even find a paint to help make a more dramatic look.

I have too many ideas for the master bath and the theater room so I’ll save those for a time that I’m more decisive.

Leave a comment